Green Paper - Environmental Responsibility

For us, creating a high-quality product should be an economic activity that minimises its effects on the environment.

This attitude guides many of our decisions: from using sustainable resources (timber from FSC/PEFC-certified forests), to choosing an independent clean power provider, to compensating for CO2 emissions, to optimising packaging for our shipments.

We even offer curling ribbon made of cotton so it can be recycled along with the paper. For similar reasons we also have never used plastic shopping bags.

Green Paper - a Mark For Your Customers.

The consumer's purchase decisions are more and more influenced by how companies treat the environment. Studies show that higher-income earners are particularly sensitive in this regard.

You also support a sustainable economy by buying Disegno products. The Green Paper logo shows customers that you care about the environment. You can get the logo as a free banner for your website at our online shop.

Green Paper Logo

Consider the Future - Even When Giving.

Of course, it would be best if we could avoid CO2 altogether. Unfortunately, we're not quite there yet. That's why we have been compensating for the CO2 we generate despite our best efforts since 2007. We use Prima Klima e.V. to support reforestation by planting young trees. Year over year, those trees absorb more carbon dioxide than we generate with office operations, cars, cellulose production, paper manufacture, printing, logistics, etc, even with delivering our goods to your business.

And they will do so for the next 50 to 100 years, or over the entire lifetime of a tree.

This means that new trees will be planted for every order you place with us. By the way, these reforested woods are contractually protected against any timber harvesting. Your contribution and ours thus creates a new habitat for animals and plants that also...

  • cleans and cools the water and the air•prevents erosion and stores water
  • prevents desiccation and flooding
  • promotes biodiversity
  • serves as a recreational area, and much more.
Prima Klima Siegel 2008-2018

Our Reforestation Efforts With PrimaKlima:

The first step is to plant between 2,500 and 5,000 native tree saplings (30-100 cm tall) per 10,000 sq m. Over 25 to 40 years, the saplings grow into trees and are thinned out as needed during that time. The result is a healthy mixed forest of the kind typical in our area. After 100 years, 300 to 500 mighty trees remain per 10,000 sq m. We have supported the following PrimaKlima projects:

  • 2019-20 - reforestation in Bolivia
  • 2015-18 - reforestation in Nicaragua
  • 2013-14 - reforestation in Latvia
  • 2011-12 - reforestation in Nicaragua
  • 2010 - reforestation in the Eastern Cape – South Africa
  • 2009 - reforestation in Hirschstein/Saxony – Germany
  • 2008 - reforestation in Sabah/Borneo – Malaysia
Projekte Aufforstung

Avoid CO2 - Work From Home

We allow our employees to work from home. A home office is ideal for combining family and career - and the offer also benefits the environment:

  • We can get away with a smaller office that is cheaper to heat.
  • No more commuting to and from work.
  • We don't have a field sales force that racks up tens of thousands of kilometres per year driving. Instead, we prefer to invest in an excellent, multi-lingual telephone customer service.

Sustainable - saves electricity as well as paper.

Of course, it would be best if we could avoid CO2 altogether. Unfortunately, we're not quite there yet. That's why we have been compensating for the CO2 we generate despite our best efforts since 2007. We use Prima Klima e.V. to support reforestation by planting young trees. Year over year, those trees absorb more carbon dioxide than we generate with office operations, cars, cellulose production, paper manufacture, printing, logistics, etc, even with delivering our goods to your business.

And they will do so for the next 50 to 100 years, or over the entire lifetime of a tree.

Nachhaltigkeit

Our gift wrap paper - like an organic product

From an ecological point of view you could call our gift wrap paper an "organic product". The wood that provides the raw material for our premium kraft paper is sourced exclusively from FSC- or PEFC-certified forests.

This means that as a Disegno customer you're protecting a vital piece of nature. These forests have room for young and old trees as well as for uprooted ones. They're a refuge for plants and animals. This type of raw material is more expensive than wood obtained by overfelling, a practice whose true costs are, unfortunately, borne by all of us in the form of lost species, global warming, and erosion.

We mainly use wood for our paper that is unfit for use in sawmills and grinding shops. Waste timber from sawmills is another valuable raw material we use. Because of their long fibres we only use domestic species, such as spruce and pine, for our gift wrap paper. We do not use any tropical timber - even if it is certified. Aside from the long transport distances, those wood fibres are too short to meet our high requirements for tearing strength.

All wood comes from forests located close to our paper mill - and, as is the case for all our suppliers, in Western Europe. This reduces transportation costs and CO2 emissions. Our kraft paper is made from pure, unbleached granite paper. White paper is bleached without chlorine.

Our pulp mill saves energy, CO2 and produces electricity.

In paper-making, the pulp produced by the pulp mill is typically dried in bales, which requires a lot of energy. The bales are then transported to the paper manufacturer, where they are soaked, milled into paper webs and dried a second time.

Our paper supplier is mill and manufacturer in one and combines these production steps. Pulp is turned into paper while still wet. This reduces transport distances and, above all, the high amount of energy required for drying.

In addition, our paper supplier also burns the lye produced during cellulose production and turns it into electricity. A renewable energy source that does much more than just satisfy the mill's own energy needs.

Unwrap - then use for crafts later.

Durability, repurposing, upcycling and recycling are important pillars of a resource-efficient economy. The durability of our kraft paper contributes to that economy.

  • It invites multiple uses - our paper shopping bags, in particular, are reused again and again for shopping.
  • The colourful designs on our gift wrap paper invites kids to cut out images and characters and glue them onto things, make lanterns, or turn them into posters that can be hung on the wall. Instructions can be found on the bottom of every Disegno paper shopping bag.
Upcycling - Zweitnutzen

Green Paper - Verantwortung für unsere Umwelt

Zu einem hochwertigen Produkt gehört für uns ein Wirtschaften, das die Auswirkungen auf unsere Umwelt minimiert.

Diese Einstellung prägt viele unserer Entscheidungen: Vom Einsatz nachhaltiger Rohstoffe (Holz aus Wäldern nach FSC/PEFC Standard), der Wahl eines unabhängigen Ökostromanbieters, über die Kompensation des verursachten CO2 bis hin zum verpackungsoptimierten Versand.

Selbst das kräuselbare Geschenkband gibt es bei uns aus Baumwolle, sodass es sich gemeinsam mit dem Papier recyceln lässt. Aus ähnlichen Gründen gab es in unserem Sortiment auch noch nie Tragetaschen aus Kunststoff.

Green-Paper - ein Zeichen für Ihre Kunden.

Wie Unternehmen mit unserer Umwelt umgehen, bestimmt zunehmend die Kaufentscheidung von Verbrauchern. Studien belegen: Gerade Besserverdienende sind hier oft besonders sensibel.

Auch Sie fördern mit Ihrem Einkauf bei Disegno nachhaltiges Wirtschaften. Mit dem Green-Paper Logo zeigen Sie Ihr Engagement auch gegenüber Ihren Kunden. Sie erhalten das Logo kostenlos als Banner für Ihre Internetseite in unserem Webshop.

Green Paper Logo

Weiterdenken - auch beim Schenken.

Das Beste wäre natürlich, wir könnten CO2 ganz vermeiden. Leider gelingt das noch nicht komplett. Daher kompensieren wir schon seit 2007 all das CO2, das trotz unserer Bemühungen entsteht. Über Prima Klima e.V. lassen wir im Rahmen von Aufforstungen - junge Bäume anpflanzen. Diese absorbieren Jahr für Jahr mehr CO2, als wir durch Bürobetrieb, PKWs, Zellstoffproduktion, Papierherstellung, Druck, Logistik, etc. und sogar durch den Transport bis in Ihr Geschäft verursachen.

Und dies die nächsten 50 bis 100 Jahre – also ein ganzes Baumleben lang.

Dies bedeutet, wenn Sie bei und bestellen, werden Zug um Zug Bäume gepflanzt. Die aufgeforsteten Wälder sind übrigens vertraglich vor jeglicher Holzernte geschützt. Ihr und unser Beitrag sichert so einen neuen Lebensraum für Tiere und Pflanzen, der auch...

  • Wasser und Luft reinigt und kühlt
  • vor Bodenerosion schützt und Wasser speichert
  • Austrocknung und Überschwemmungen vorbeugt
  • Artenvielfalt (Biodiversität) begünstigt
  • als Erholungsgebiet dient u.v.m.
Prima Klima Siegel 2008-2018

Unsere Aufforstungen - über PrimaKlima:

Im ersten Schritt werden pro Hektar 2.500 bis 5.000 Setzlinge (30-100 cm Höhe) einheimischer Baumarten gepflanzt. Im Laufe von 25 bis 40 Jahren wachsen die Bäume heran und werden in dieser Zeit entsprechend ausgedünnt. Es entsteht ein gesunder Mischwald, wie er in unseren Breiten natürlich ist. Nach 100 Jahren wachsen pro Hektar noch 300 bis 500 mächtige Bäume. Diese Projekte haben wir über PrimaKlima unterstützt:

  • 2015/16 - Aufforstung in Nicaragua
  • 2013/14 - Aufforstung in Lettland
  • 2011/12 - Aufforstung in Nicaragua
  • 2010 - Aufforstung am Ost-Kap – Südafrika
  • 2009 - Aufforstung in Hirschstein/Sachsen – Deutschland
  • 2008 - Aufforstung in Sabah/Borneo – Malaysia
Projekte Aufforstung

CO2 vermeiden – auch mit Home Office.

Wir ermöglichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern vom Home Office aus zu arbeiten. Ideal, um Beruf und Familie miteinander zu verbinden - und ein Angebot, von dem auch die Umwelt profitiert:

  • Wir benötigen ein kleineres Büro mit weniger Heizaufwand.
  • Fahrten von und zur Arbeit entfallen.
  • Einen Außendienst, der schnell mehrere 10.000 Kilometer pro Jahr mit dem Auto unterwegs ist, gibt es bei uns nicht. Stattdessen investieren wir lieber in einen guten, mehrsprachigen, telefonischen Kundenservice.

Nachhaltig - beim Strom wie beim Papier.

Für 2.000 kWh entstehen bei herkömmlichen Stromanbietern ca. 1.000 kg CO2 . Bei unserem unabhängigen Stromversorger EWS Schönau werden für die gleiche Strommenge nur 46 kg CO2 emittiert - weniger als ein Zwanzigstel.

Durch unseren Wechsel zu EWS Schönau (seit 2007) fördern wir mit jeder Kilowattstunde neue, dezentrale und regenerative Energie.

Nachhaltigkeit

Unser Geschenkpapier - so gut wie Bio.

Ökologisch gesehen könnte man unser Geschenkpapier auch als „Bio-Produkt“ bezeichnen. Das Rohmaterial Holz für unser Premium-Kraftpapier wird ausschließlich aus FSC- oder PEFC-zertifizierten Wäldern bezogen.

Damit schützen Sie als Disegno Kunde einen lebenswichtigen Naturraum. Denn in diesen Wäldern haben alte und junge Bäume genauso Platz wie entwurzelte. Ein Refugium für Tiere und Pflanzen. Ein solcher Rohstoff liegt preislich höher, als Raubbau-Holz, dessen wahre Kosten leider durch Verlust von Arten, Klimaerwärmung und Erosion von uns allen getragen werden.

Hauptsächlich nutzen wir für unser Papier Holz, welches in Sägewerken und Schleifereien nicht verwendet werden kann. Auch Restholz aus Sägewerken ist für uns ein wertvoller Rohstoff. Aufgrund ihrer langen Fasern kommen für unsere Geschenkpapiere nur heimische Baumarten wie Fichte oder Kiefer in Frage. Tropenholz - selbst mit Zertifizierung - kommt bei uns nicht zum Einsatz. Abgesehen von dem viel zu weiten Transportweg sind die Fasern des Holzes zu kurz, um unsere hohen Anforderungen an die Reißfestigkeit des Papiers erfüllen zu können.

Alle Hölzer stammen aus Wäldern, die direkt im Einzugsgebiet unserer Papierfabrik liegen - und wie all unsere Zulieferer in Westeuropa. Das spart Transportkosten und CO2. Unsere Kraftpapiere gewinnen wir aus reinem, ungebleichtem Faserpapier. Weißes Papier bleichen wir chlorfrei.

Unsere Zellstoffmühle - spart Energie, CO2 und produziert Strom.

Bei der Papierherstellung wird normalerweise der in der Zellstoffmühle gewonnene Zellstoff mit hohem Energieaufwand zu Ballen getrocknet. Diese werden dann zum Papierhersteller transportiert, um dort wieder eingeweicht, zu Papierbahnen gewalzt und ein 2. Mal getrocknet zu werden.

Unser Papierlieferant ist Mühle und Papierhersteller in einem und verbindet diese Produktionsschritte. Der noch nasse Zellstoff wird direkt zu Papier weiterverarbeitet. Dies spart Transportwege und vor allem den hohen Energieaufwand für die Trocknung.

Zusätzlich verfeuert unser Papierzulieferer die Lauge, die bei der Zellstoffproduktion entsteht, um Strom zu erzeugen. Eine regenerative Energie, mit der die Mühle weit mehr deckt als nur ihren Eigenbedarf.

Auspacken - und später damit basteln.

Langlebigkeit, Umnutzung, Upcycling und Recycling sind wichtige Säulen in einer ressourcen-schonenden Wirtschaft. Die Langlebigkeit unseres Kraftpapiers trägt dazu bei.

  • Es lädt zur mehrfachen Nutzung ein - insbesondere unsere Tragetaschen werden immer wieder für Einkäufe verwendet.
  • Die farbenfrohen Motive unserer Geschenkpapiere laden Kinder ein, Bilder und Figuren auszuschneiden und aufzukleben, Laternen zu basteln oder die Motive zur Dekoration als Poster aufhängen. Eine Anleitung findet sich am Boden jeder Disegno Tragetasche.
Upcycling - Zweitnutzen